Things for HR to Know Now - Updates on FFCRA, Paid Sick Leave for Colorado and more
One thing we wanted to do when we started HRx, was to provide a place where we, as HR professionals, could share with our HR community the things we feel are important and help you stay informed. With that intention, we share with you things that we feel HR practitioners should be thinking about now, for future workforce planning.
COMPS Order #36 - dates and information you should know.
What it is: According to the CDLE - The COMPS Order, like the previously issued wage orders, is the source of critical Colorado wage rights and responsibilities beyond those provided by federal law, including eligibility for the Colorado minimum wage; overtime pay for work past 40 hours per week and 12 hours per day; meal and rest breaks; and other employee and employer rights and responsibilities, such as what wage deductions are permissible, how hourly rates are calculated from non-hourly pay for overtime, and posting the Order’s provisions to employees for ease of access.
Timeline for compliance: COMPS Order #36 was initially adopted in January of 2020, with an effective date of Marth 16, 2020. Additionally, the CDLE also adopted three modifications in a temporary/emergency ruling with took place also on March 16, 2020, and were then finalized as permanent modifications starting on July 15, 2020.
According to an article from Littler, following the new final version, and temporary orders, employers are required to comply with all areas of the original COMPS #36 Order, and the modifications contain further clarification on the following items:
Which company situations qualify as joint employers, and which FLSA laws are applicable in the definition.
Exemptions for Direct Care/Direct Support Companions.
Recordkeeping Requirements for up to 3 years: